Reviews Galore!

596695So, I’ve kinda been neglecting this blog a bit as of late. There’s been some personal stuff happening lately which I don’t really want to go into on here. But its got better now so hopefully I’ll be updating this more often from now on. I’ve seem a few films over the last few months so instead of a big review of each one, I’m gonna do a wee review round up. So lets get this show started! There will be spoilers ahead so don’t say I didn’t warn you.

batmanvsuperman2

First up, I want to to talk a bit about Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice. Lets get the obvious out of the way, this was not a great film. However, it definitely did not deserve the slating it got. The action scenes were spectacular, especially the titular showdown between the two heroes. The majority of the cast were excellent, particularly Ben Affleck as Batman/Bruce Wayne and Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman/Diana Prince. He did an excellent job of portraying an older, battle weary hero and with the news that he will be directing the next Batman solo film, I cannot wait to see where he takes the character. Although she was not in the film for that long, Gal Gadot did a cracking job portraying a woman who is a true warrior and loves the thrill of a good fight. There’s a moment in the final battle when she is thrown to the ground full force by Doomsday (the creature created by Lex Luthor to take out Superman) and she just gets up with a wee smile on her face and just leaps right back into the fight. I thought this was a nice touch for the character. Speaking if Lex Luthor, I was a but underwhelmed by Jesse Eisenbergs performance. It seemed more like he was channeling The Riddler more than anything. I think the main bad thing about the film I found was that it felt a bit like they were trying to cram a bit too much into it and that they were trying to play catch up with Marvel in establishing their own cinematic universe. It made the film a bit bloated and it could have been a tad confusing for non die-hard fans of the DC comics (even I had to look some stuff up online after the film to find out what it meant). It was also a very serious, humorless film. Would it have killed them to out a but more lighthearted moments in it? Other than that though I found the film pretty damn enjoyable. And since I mentioned Marvel

Captain-America-Civil-War-Iron-Man-vs-Steve-Rogers

Holy crap, Civil War. This might be one of the best films Marvel has done yet. The Russo Brothers managed to take a film with almost all the characters from the previous films as well as newcomers Black Panther and Spider-Man, and make it a very well balanced, thrilling, action packed film that had me completely glued to the screen. The airport fight may go down as one of the best fight scenes on screen for a long time, it felt like it was lifted right out of a comic. Massive kudos should go to Tom Holland for his portrayal of Spider-Man/Peter Parker. Bringing a sense of naivety and humor to the character, he got some of the biggest laughs in the film. Another standout was Daniel Bruhl, who was fantastic as Baron Zemo, a powerless villain who has lost everything due to the actions of the Avengers. He might be one of the best villains I’ve seen in a Marvel film yet. The films story is brilliantly told, its genuinely hard to decide which side you are on.  Downey Jr and Evans give fantastic, conflicted performances , making you feel sorry for the former friends having to battle each other. And it is SOOOOO refreshing to see a superhero film that doesn’t end on a high note for once. Zemo gets his revenge. the Avengers are split up and Captain America and his teammates are now on the run. I honestly can’t say enough about this film, its one of the most perfect comic book films I’ve ever seen. With the Russo Brothers at the helm, the two part Infinity War films are in very good hands.

the-jungle-book-2016-poster-header-165110

I’m not gonna lie, I was a bit hesitant when they announced a live action Jungle Book film. Then when they announced it was Jon Favreau directing it, I thought “Hmmm, okay, I can live with that, but what about the cast?”. And by God, when they announced that cast my excitement levels got waaayyyy higher. Christopher Walken, Idris Elba, Bill fuckin’ Murray, Scarlett Johansson, Lupita Nyong’o and Giancarlo Esposoto?! Count me in! The film is thankfully an absolute triumph and may be one of the best films I’ve seen so far this year. The voice acting is fantastic. Idris Elba in particular is outstanding as Shere Kahn, his performance was just oozing with menace in every scene his in. The CGI is amazing, especially the way that they gave the animal characters some of the characteristics of their respective voice actors. It’s especially noticeable in King Louis, the ruler of the apes played by the always  brilliant Christopher Walken. There are some scenes in the film that might be a wee bit scary for the younger children (particularly if Shere Khan is involved) but overall its a film that everyone will love. And yes. they do squeeze a couple of the classic songs in there as well, so you can sing along to your hearts content

maxresdefault

When the first trailer come out in January, less than 2 months before the film was released, I was very excited to see another film in the Cloverfield series. I loved the first film, it was a brilliant new take on the giant monster films which have always held a special place in my heart, so I couldn’t wait too see where this one was going to go. I’m not going to lie, when I started hearing more about it, I was a bit disappointed to hear that it wouldn’t be a direct sequel to Cloverfield but a separate story entirely, just under the Cloverfield name.  I’m glad I did go to see it though, because it is an excellent film. The story is incredibly tense, with great performances from Mary Elizabeth Winstead, John Goodman and John Gallagher Jr. It never fails to amaze me just how menacing Goodman can be when he wants to be and in this film he excels at it. I also think that Winstead  is an incredibly underrated actress, every film I’ve seen her in she’s been excellent in it. I’ve seen a few people say that the end of the film kinda comes out of nowhere, with little to no explanation (an hour and a half of 3 people in a bunker then BAM aliens) but I honestly think it works in the films favour. Just like in the first Cloverfield film, your’re giving very little information on why things are happening and when the films over you find yourself wanting to know more and, if you’re like me, speculating on what happens after the credits roll. I’d definitely recommend giving this film a watch.

Thats’s it for now. I’ll try and update this a bit more often from now on!

Leave a Reply

